Skip to main content

Theses

Find theses to inform your research.

Find theses from other countries

Some key sources for locating international theses include:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - Full Text
ProQuest's multidisciplinary collection of dissertations and theses spanning from 1743 to the present day.  

WorldCat 
WorldCat is the world’s most comprehensive database of information about library collections. You can refine your search by selecting format option of theses. 

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) 
Provides access to free, electronic full text of theses from participating universities. 

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Database of  open access theses and dissertations published around the world.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including theses

Additional sources by region

Africa 

  • DATAD (Database of African Theses & Dissertations) Database of citations and abstracts of dissertations from African universities. Registration required to access.

South Africa

Asia and the Pacific

China 

India

New Zealand 

  • nzresearch.org.nz - Repository of New Zealand research papers and related resources, including theses 

Singapore

 

 

Europe and the UK

  • DART-Europe is a portal for the discovery of European Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs)

France

  • TEL (thèses-EN-ligne) an open archive of digital French theses, abstracts are available in English.
  • theses.fr is a portal to French theses, both those accepted and those in progress.

Germany

Nordic

  • DiVA portal is an institutional repository for research publications and student theses written at 47 Nordic universities and research institutions

United Kingdom 

  • EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) A service from the British Library to find theses from UK universities. Register (free) to download theses, a limited number of theses are available for free immediate download.

North America

Canada

  • Theses Canada - Database of Canadian theses since 1965. Includes Open Access theses

United States 

  • American doctoral dissertations - An open access database of theses and dissertations selected from 1902, with many available full text.
  • Directory of History DissertationsThe Directory contains dissertations that were completed or are currently in progress at 203 history departments in the United States and Canada
  • Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.