Image search engines
Image: User:jballeis, Wikivoyage banner panda Xiao Liwu im San Diego Zoo - Foto 3, CC BY-SA 3.0
- OpenverseFind images, video and audio that you can use and remix across several open archives.
- Google Advanced Image SearchEnter your search term and under usage rights select one of the free to use options.
- Wikimedia CommonsA database of over 22 million freely usable media files.
Attributions
It is important to correctly attribute any images you use. The Creative Commons section explains what to include in the attribution.
Selecting content to reuse
The websites listed have content that you can reuse (usually with attribution requirements) but may also offer stock or paid content. Check the resource you choose carefully to make sure that it allows reuse.
You may be able to:
- find a Creative Commons (CC) or other free licence statement on the resource you select
- filter the search to find only CC or freely licensed content.
Photo collections
- UnsplashFree high-resolution photos. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.
- PexelsFree stock photos. Many of the images state "No attribution required".
- Freerange stockLicensed to use with no attribution but attribution is appreciated.
- Free ImagesAn archive of stock photography for use in websites, printed materials and products. Images are provided free of charge for both commercial and personal use under an attribution license.
- GratisographyPhotographic images available on a creative commons zero license.
- Open PhotoThe Open Photo Project is a photo sharing platform. Contributors have offered their images free of charge under terms of Creative Commons licensing.
- Every Stock PhotoA search engine for free photos which come from many sources. You can view the attribution license to determine under what conditions each photo can be used.
- The Noun ProjectAs well as icons, the Noun Project now has Creative Commons licensed images. You can download the basic version of the image for free - Noncommercial use allowed, social media quality, no crop/edit allowed, must attribute artist. Registration required.
Artworks
- Getty Museum open contentDownload, edit and reuse high resolution images of Getty artworks under Creative Commons Zero (CCO).
Icons and clip art
- The Noun ProjectSearchable database of icons that can be used freely when attributed to creator. Registration required.
- VexelsMany graphics and icons free to use with attribution. Not for commercial use.
- OpenclipartClip art and icons free to download and use for any purpose (Public domain), including commercial.
Science images
- Bugwood imagesIncludes forestry, IPM (Integrated pest management), insect and weed images with identification, taxonomy and descriptions. Images made under Creative Commons Licence for use in educational applications.
- NASA image and video libraryYou can use the NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) images and videos material for educational or informational purposes.
Health and medical
- AnatomytoolBrowse collections or search by anatomical structure or keyword.
- BodyParts 3DBodyParts3D is licensed under CC Attribution-Share Alike 2.1 Japan.
- HEAL (Health Education Assets Library) CollectionA collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.
- Public Health Image LibraryPublic health images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Historical
- Public Domain Review - ImagesA collection of images in the public domain. Search by time, genre, content etc
- Trove - Pictures, photos, objectsSearch photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures, as well as physical objects such as puzzles, instruments and clothing.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsProvides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitised from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Ad Access ProjectHistorical advertising images. Images are able to be used without prior permission, with attribution, for educational purposes.
Contemporary and historical
- Wellcome ImagesIncludes biomedical, healthcare, and social history images. Images are available under one of two Creative Commons licences - either free use for any purpose or free use for non-commercial purposes only.
Edit images
- GIMPFree, open source software for image editing.