Skip to main content

Manuscripts and Archives

What are manuscripts and archives?

Manuscripts and archives are documents produced by organisations or individuals in the course of their activities, and preserved because of their continuing value.

Unlike published material, they usually exist in one copy only, and are therefore unique and irreplaceable.

Examples include: letters, notes, diaries, literary drafts, financial records, minutes, reports.

Useful terms

A glossary of useful terms for using manuscripts and archives

+ Archives

+ Collection

+ Ephemera

+ Finding aid

+ Manuscript

+ Papers

+ Primary source

+ Provenance

+ Records

+ Restricted

+ Secondary source

+ Vertical file

Featured resource

Manuscripts and archives at UQ Library

Need to access:

  • rare books
  • microfilm or fiche
  • archives
  • manuscripts
  • ephemera
  • photographic collections
  • other primary source material?

The Fryer Library is the special collections branch of UQ Library. We're open to undergraduate, postgraduate students and staff, as well as the general public, 9 am to 5 pm, Monday to Saturday on Level 4 of the Duhig Tower (Building 2), St Lucia campus.

In our reading room, you can handle medieval manuscripts, early printed books, manuscripts of Australian literary works, and research the archives of individuals and non-government organisations.

We also have books and journals about Australia (particularly Australian literature, art, architecture and Queensland history and politics) available for use in our reading room.

Find out more about how to:

Image of Fryer Library reading room

Follow the Fryer blog

Find out about new collections, archival research tips, and what's happening at Fryer:

Loading