Research guides
Research guides:
Dictionaries and encyclopaedias
Encyclopaedias and dictionaries:
Books
Use call numbers to browse items on Library shelves:
The Canadian legal system by Publication Date: 2004
Essential sources of Canadian law/les references essentielles en droit Canadien by Publication Date: 2009
Looseleaf
Secondary sources
Use these key databases to find journal articles:
Legislation
Constitutional law
Constitutional law- World Constitutions IllustratedContains full text of Constitution, plus selected commentaries, scholarly articles and bibliography.
Acts and regulations
Acts and regulations- Department of JusticeContains official Federal Statutes and Regulations. Includes point-in-time access. Bilingual versions of consolidated legislation also available.
- Canadian Legislation (Westlaw)Contains Federal and Provincial Statutes, regulations and rules.
- All Canada Statutes and Legislation (via LexisNexis)Contains all available Statutes & Legislation sources for Canada
Bills and parliamentary material
Bills and parliamentary material- Parliament of CanadaContains debates and journals for the Senate and House of Commons from mid-1990s.
- Canadian Parliamentary Historical ResourcesContains debates and journals of the Senate and the House of Commons from 1867 to 1994.
Case law
Key databases for case law
Key databases for case law- Canadian Case Law (via CanLII)Contains unreported judgments from federal courts and tribunals, plus each of Canada's provinces and territories.
- Canada Cases and Decisions (via Westlaw)Covers federal and provincial case law, including all major Canadian law report series.
- Canadian Cases (via LexisNexis)Covers federal and provincial case law. To find a case by citation, select 'Get a Document' from toolbar.
Law reports
- Canada Supreme Court Reports (SCR)Authorised reports of decisions of the Canadian Supreme Court.
- Dominion Law Reports (DLR)Series of reported cases from all the courts of Canada.
Case citators
Case citators- Canadian Case Law (via CanLII)CanLII has a free, automated case citator. Enter case names or citations in the note-up field.
Law reform materials
Law reform commissions and committees:
- Law Reform ResourcesContains list of Canadian law reform commissions, as well as the law reform database.