Skip to main content
UQ Library Guides
Free online resources for secondary schools
Search this Guide
Free online resources for secondary schools: Biology
Links to free resources for secondary school students including websites, databases and ebooks, provided by the UQL Cyberschool
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Studies
Art & Art History
Business and Economics
Data & Statistics
English & English Extension
Graphics & Technology Studies
Home Economics & Hospitality
Legal Studies & Criminology
Physical Education & Health
Politics & Government
Science & Technology
IPT and ITS
Study of Religion
Study of Society
Film & Television
Referencing and citation
Visiting UQ Campus
Covers the following topics: biodiversity, environment, genomics, biotechnology, evolution and science policy.
AIMS : Australia's tropical marine research agency
Conducts research into tropical marine environments and their living aquatic resources.
Animals of Queensland
From the Queensland Museum.
Atlas of living Australia
Australian Government - Department of Environment and Energy
Topics include; The Cleaner Environment Plan, Biodiversity, Heritage, Marine, Sustainable communities, Water, Environment protection, Land, National Parks and Science and research.
Australian Online Coastal Information
OzCoasts provides comprehensive information about Australia's coast, including its estuaries, coastal waterways and climate change impact.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Biology resources from Springer Link
Use the search box to find relevant eBooks.
The Biotechnology Online Secondary School Resource provides balanced and factual information about biotechnology.
Department of the Environment and Energy - Topics
Topics include: Biodiversity, Environmental Protection, Marine, Water, Climate Change, Heritage and National Parks.
From the Australian Government, Department of Agriculture website.
FaunaNet is an online gateway to resources and expertise in biodiversity and conservation.
Gene Technology - CSIRO
Discover how gene technology impacts our lives and the research CSIRO is undertaking in this field.
Genetic Science Learning Center
Delivers educational materials on genetics, bioscience and health topics.
Genetics Home Reference
Consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Moreton Bay Marine Park
Resources from the Department of National Parks, Recreation, Sport and Racing. (Queensland Government)
The National Center for Biotechnology Information
The NCBI advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
Opensource Textbooks - Biology
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology
An open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal.
United Nations Environment Programme - World Conservation Monitoring Centre.
Provides authoritative information about biodiversity and ecosystem services in a manner that is useful to decision-makers who are driving change in environment and development policy.
Crash Course videos - Biology
Khan Academy - Biology
Covers topics seen in a first year college or high school biology course.
The National Center for Biotechnology Information - YouTube Channel
Short tutorials to help get the most out of NCBI resources.
Virus World - YouTube channel
Videos to help you understand viruses.
Biology Inquiry Lessons
OER Commons library of freely available resources. The resources developed will support student critical thinking, analysis, and problem solving across STEM disciplines.
May 21, 2018 10:45 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.